Curriculum Vitae

Rowan KILLIP UCLA Mathematics Department Box 951555 Los Angeles, CA 90095-1555 killip@math.ucla.edu

Research interests

Mathematical physics: Hamiltonian PDE, spectral theory, random matrix theory, and integrable systems.

Education and Employment

- 2009 Professor, Department of Mathematics, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA.
- 2016 Visiting Researcher, IHES, Bures-sur-Yvette, France.
- 2015 Research Professor, MSRI, Berkeley, CA.
- 2006–9 Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA.
- 2007-8 Member, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton NJ.
- 2003–6 Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA.
- 2002–3 Olga Taussky-John Todd Instructor, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA.
- 2002 Visitor, Institut Mittag-Leffler, Stockholm, Sweden. (Aug-Sept)
- 2000–2 Hans Rademacher Instructor, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA. (Sept–Dec 2000, Jan–Aug 2002)
- 2001 Member, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton NJ. (Jan–Dec)
- 2000 Visitor, Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France. (Jan–May)
- 1996–2000 Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA.

Thesis: Perturbations of one-dimensional Schrödinger operators preserving the absolutely continuous spectrum. Defended: August 8, 2000. Degree conferred: June 2001.

Advisor: B Simon.

1995–6 M.Sc. with distinction, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.

Theses: Sub-ground state phenomena in narrow channels.

Advisor: B Pavlov.

An appraisal of phase measurements.

Advisor: H M Wiseman.

1991–4 B.Sc.(hons) with 1st class honours, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand.

Grants/Awards

- 2023 Frontiers of Science Award, International Congress of Basic Science.
- 2022 NSF Grant DMS-2154022.
- 2020 Best Article Accepted and Published in SIMA.
- 2019 Honorable mention, UCLA Division of Physical Sciences Outstanding Discovery Award.
- 2019 NSF Grant DMS-1856755.

- 2016 NSF Grant DMS-1600942.
- 2016 Visiting researcher, IHES.
- 2015 Research Professorship, MSRI.
- 2015 Simons Fellowship.
- 2012 NSF Grant DMS-1265868.
- 2012 Sorgenfrey Distinguished Teaching Award.
- 2010 NSF Grant DMS-1001531.
- 2007 NSF Grant DMS-0701085.
- 2004 NSF Grant DMS-0401277.
- 2004 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship.
- 2000 Clay Mathematics Institute Lift-off Fellowship.
- 1999 Alfred P. Sloan Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship.
- 1996 William Pickering Fellowship.
- 1995 Faculty of Science Scholarship.
- 1995 Fowlds Prize
- 1994 University of Auckland Masters/Honors Scholarship.
- 1994 Annual Prize in Mathematics.
- 1994 Senior Scholarship in Physics.
- 1993 Senior Scholarship in Pure Mathematics.

Selected Invited Lectures

- 2023 Special lecture, Institute for Applied Physics and Computational Mathematics, Beijing.
- 2023 Invited speaker, "Contemporary Analysis and Its Applications", Portorož, Slovenia.
- 2023 Invited speaker, "Geometric and Functional Inequalities and Applications", online.
- 2021 Invited speaker, "Harmonic Analysis and PDEs Lectures", online.
- 2021 Invited speaker, Rivière-Fabes Symposium.
- 2020 Colloquium, Rice University.
- 2019 Invited speaker, "Spectral methods in Mathematical Physics", Institut Mittag-Leffler.
- 2018 Invited speaker, "PDEs and Geometric Measure Theory", ETH, Zürich.
- 2017 Invited speaker, "Workshop on Inverse Scattering and Dispersive PDEs", Fields Institute.
- 2016 Invited speaker, "Nonlinear Waves Conference", IHÉS, Paris.
- 2016 Invited speaker, "Singularity formation and long-time behavior in dispersive PDEs", Bonn.
- 2014 Invited speaker, Texas Analysis and Mathematical Physics Symposium.
- 2013 Colloquium, Princeton University.
- 2008 Applied and Interdisciplinary Mathematics Seminar, Ann Arbor, MI.
- 2008 Colloquium, Northwestern University.
- 2008 Colloquium, Caltech.
- 2007 Colloquium, Northwestern University.
- 2007 Plenary lecture, "Quantum Mathematics International Conference (QMath10)", Moeciu.

- 2007 Plenary lecture, "Orthogonal polynomials, Special functions and Applications", CIRM.
- 2006 Plenary lecture, "Spectral Theory and Mathematical Physics Conference", Pasadena, CA.
- 2002 Plenary lecture, "Operator Theory and its applications in mathematical physics", Institute of Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences.

Other Teaching/Conference Activities

Co-organizer, "Dispersive Integrable Systems: Pathfinders in Hamiltonian Systems", Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris, France, 2026.

Co-organizer and mini-course presenter "Workshop on Nonlinear Dispersive Wave Equations", Peking University, China, 2022.

Lecture series, Institute for Applied Physics and Computational Mathematics, Beijing, 2018.

Mini-course "KdV and spectral theory", IHES, May, 2016.

Co-organizer and principal speaker, "Participating School on Critical Nonlinear Dispersive Equations", Daejon, Korea July 20-24, 2015.

Lunch-time Lecture (for graduate students) Princeton, University, March 2013.

Madison Autumn Analysis & PDE Workshop (for students + postdocs) Nov. 2012.

Expository Lectures (for students), Winter Workshop on co-compact embeddings, Bangalore, 2012.

Lecture notes (jointly with M.Visan), "Nonlinear Schrödinger equations at critical regularity." (112pp.) for Clay Summer School in Zurich.

Organizer, Graduate Analysis seminar, 2008-Present.

Expository Lectures (for students), Summer Workshop, "Partial Differential Equations: Analysis, Applications, and Inverse Problems", Waitangi, 2007.

Co-organizer, Summer School, Hamiltonian Mechanics and Integrable Systems, 2004.

Student/postdoctoral mentoring:

Graduate Students: Eric Ryckman (Ph.D. 2007), Jason Murphy (PhD 2014), Samantha Xu (Ph.D. 2014), Casey Jao (PhD 2016), Adam Azzam (PhD 2017), Yunfeng Zhang (PhD 2018), Maria Ntekoume (PhD 2020), Gyu Eun Lee (PhD 2021), Blaine Talbut (PhD 2021), Thierry Laurens (PhD 2023), Itai Bar-Natan (PhD candidate), Nicholas Hu (PhD candidate), Matthew Kowalski (PhD candidate), James Hogan (PhD candidate).

Postdoctoral Scholars: Betsy Stovall (2009–2012), Rostyslav Kozhan (2010–2013), Yu Zhang (2014–2016), Yannis Angelopoulos (2016–2018), Benjamin Harrop-Griffiths (2018–2022), Justin Forlano (2020–2023), Zhimeng Ouyang (2021–2022), Andreia Chapouto (2021–2023).

.